Published On: March 8th, 2024

Sunrise wins 2 DPL National Championships

Cincinnati, Ohio (July 2, 2023) – The Sunrise Sting 2009 and 2007 DPL teams won today’s DPL National Championship. The 2010 DPL team finished as a finalist. Combined with the 2018 USYS U18 National Championship, the Club has recently won three national titles.

The 07s defeated Boulder County (CO), Triangle (NC), and the NY Rush in bracket play. Then La Roca (UT) was defeated in a semi-final match to set up the championship against the New England Surf. The girls won 1-0.

For the 2009s, they opened up with a win over Triangle (NC). But all eyes were on the second match against the San Diego Force, the defending National champs and winner of the DPL Summit, where they beat the 09s in overtime. In a barnburner of a match, the Sting overcame deficits of 1-2 and 2-3 to win the game in the closing minutes, 4-3. The next bracket match win against Lou Fusz (MO) sent the team into the semi-finals against the state-rival Florida Hawks. A tight 2-1 win, and it was on to the championship against the Rhode Island Surf. The team won 3-2.

Both teams compete next in the Broward Labor Day Soccer Cup and then at WAGS in October.

Share this article